Hallmark Hall of Fame Facts

First Broadcast:


Amahl and the Night Visitors
on Christmas Eve 1951
(first opera ever commissioned for television)


Average Running Time of Broadcast:


96 minutes
(8-10 minutes longer than typical made-for-television movies)


Number of Broadcasts:


257 as of April 2016

Number of Awards:


133 Total
81 Emmys (more than twice as many as any other TV series)
28 Christopher Awards
11 Peabody Awards
9 Golden Globes
4 Humanitas Prizes


Award-Winning Actors:


64 Academy Award-winning actors have appeared in Hallmark Hall of Fame presentations. That is one-fourth of all the actors who have ever won an Oscar.


Most-Watched Broadcast:


1997 production of What the Deaf Man Heard, starring Matthew Modine and James Earl Jones, holds the series' viewership record of nearly 23 million viewers.


Most-Honored Broadcast:


1986 production of Promise, starring James Garner and James Woods, is the most-honored single program in television history (5 Emmys, 1 Christopher Award, 1 Peabody Award, 2 Golden Globes, 1 Humanitas Prize).


Length of Hallmark Commercials:


2 minutes average
(for those running during Hallmark Hall of Fame movies)


Average Number of Hallmark Commercials:

  8 commercials per 2-hour broadcast


Check out the Hallmark Hall of Fame website for more details about television's most-honored dramatic series.

Fun Fact

In 1915, Hall Brothers purchased engraving presses to begin printing and publishing greeting cards, becoming a manufacturer for the first time.